## **Cañada College Academic Senate Governing Council**

http://canadacollege.edu/academicsenate

# Agenda 4/14/16

2:10pm - 4:10pm

#### Room 2-10

Meetings of the Governing Council are open to all members of the public. Materials are posted on the meeting page of the ASGC website.

No.	Item/Topic	Presenter	Time	Action
1	Call to Order	Hirzel	1	Procedure
2	Introductions		2	Information
3	Adoption of Agenda		1	Action
4	Adoption of Consent Agenda		1	Action

#### **Consent Agenda**

7.4

7.5

7.6

All items on the consent agenda may, by unanimous vote of the Governing Council members present, be approved by one motion after allowing for Council member questions about a particular item. Prior to a motion for approval of the consent agenda, any Council member, interested student, citizen or member of the staff may request that an item be removed from Consent to be discussed in the order listed, after approval of remaining items on the consent agenda.

discussed in the order listed, after approval of remaining items on the consent agenda.						
4.1	Approval of Minutes: 3/10/16 and 3/24/16					
4.2	Approval of Academic Senate funding of approximately \$540 (air and hotel) for Patty Hall to attend ASCCC's					
	CTE Leadership Institute May 5-8. Patty is our appointed CTE Liaison to the ASCCC.					
4.3	Revisions to Board Policy 7.43 Student Financial Aid Programs					
	https://smccd-public.sharepoint.com/dpgc/Meeting_Handouts/20160404/7.43 Student Financial Aid					
	Programs.pdf					
Public Comment						
5	Questions/comments on non-agenda items	Public	5	Information		
Subcommittee Reports – submitted in writing						
Reports will be submitted in writing and posted online; 5 minutes will be available for questions and clarification						
6.1	President's report	Hirzel		Information		
6.2	Treasury	Aguirre		Information		
6.3	Academic Committee for Equity & Success (ACES)	Hoffman		Information		
6.4	Curriculum Committee	Behonick		Information		
6.5	Professional Development	Erickson		Information		
Senate Business						
7.1	Nominations for ASGC Treasurer and Secretary: nominations	Harmon	5	Action		
	may be made from the floor					
7.2	Recommendation to establish a faculty Assessment	Hirzel	10	Action		
	Coordinator					
7.3	Faculty representation on new college-wide Professional	Hirzel	20	Discussion		
	Development Committee					

Behonick

Schertle

Hirzel

Harmon

Hughes

20

15

30

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion

### **Important Deadlines & Matters of Senate Interest**

ASCCC constitution

Setting Class Maximums – next steps

8.1 Proposals for District Innovation Funds – April 20 http://canadacollege.edu/adminservices/innovation.php

Proposed amendment of District, Cañada, CSM and Skyline

Academic Senate Constitutions to model them after the

New faculty positions discussion with President Hughes

8.2	Upcoming Governance Meetings:				
	District Committee on Budget and Finance – April 19				
	Planning & Budgeting Council – April 20				
8.3	Upcoming Faculty Conferences				
	ASCCC Spring Plenary – Apr. 21-23				
	Resolutions for consideration at Spring Plenary - <a href="http://asccc.org/sites/default/files/Executive">http://asccc.org/sites/default/files/Executive</a>				
	Committee Resolutions from Area Meetings v3rev.docx Please provide DH and/or SH with your concerns				
	about any of the proposed items				
9	Adjourn	Hirzel	1	Action	
	Next Meeting			Apr. 28, 2016	

In accordance with the Ralph M. Brown Act and SB 751, minutes of the Cañada College Academic Senate Governing Council will record the votes of all members as follows: (1) Members recorded as absent are presumed not to have voted; (2) the names of members voting in the minority or abstaining are recorded; (3) all other members are presumed to have voted in the majority.

#### Academic Senate Governing Council for the 2015 - 2016 academic year:

President: Doug Hirzel; Vice President: Sarah Harmon; Secretary: David Meckler; Treasurer: Alicia Aguirre; Curriculum Committee: Danielle Behonick; Professional Development: Denise Erickson; Humanities and Social Sciences Division: Katie Schertle; Science and Technology Division: Michael Hoffman; Business, Design & Workforce Division: Hyla Lacefield; Athletics, Library and Learning Resources: Ana Miladinova & Diana Tedone; Student Services: Sandra Mendez