Cañada College Academic Senate Governing Council

http://canadacollege.edu/academicsenate

Agenda 12/10/15

2:10pm - 4:10pm

Room 2-10

Meetings of the Governing Council are open to all members of the public. Materials are posted on the meeting page of the ASGC website.

No.	Item/Topic	Presenter	Time	Action
1	Call to Order	Hirzel	1	Procedure
2	Introductions		2	Information
3	Adoption of Agenda		1	Action

Consent Agenda

All items on the consent agenda may, by unanimous vote of the Governing Council members present, be approved by one motion after allowing for Council member questions about a particular item. Prior to a motion for approval of the consent agenda, any Council member, interested student, citizen or member of the staff may request that an item be removed from Consent to be discussed in the order listed, after approval of remaining items on the consent agenda.

4.0	Adoption of Consent Agenda		1	Action		
4.1	Approval of Minutes: 11/12/15 and 12/1/15					
4.2	Appointments:					
	Philosophy screening committee – Mike Stanford, Lezlee Ware, Jessica Kaven, Dave Danielson (CSM					
	Philosophy)					
	Library Support Specialist screening committee – Diana Tedone					
4.3	Adoption of Resolution: Providing Accurate Data of Course Student Learning Outcomes Compliance					
4.4	Approval to reimburse Candice Nance for transportation to attend the ASCCC's CTE Curriculum Academy					
	(Jan. 14-15) in Napa. Registration and lodging are covered by CCCCO's Perkins Leadership Funds.					
4.5	Approval of supplemental travel funds to Carol Rhodes \$460 to attend Plant Epigenetics: Genotype to					
	Phenotype Conference in Taos, NM Feb. 2016					
4.6	Approval of supplemental travel funds for Mike Stanford: \$1,555 to participate in Historical Archaeological					
	Field Training, Jamestown, VA (Spring/Summer 2016) (Long-term Proposal)					
4.7	Approval of speaker honoraria for Topics of Interest speakers: Kristen Parks - "Debunking Myths about					
	Immigration Control and the U.SMexico Border"; and Jason C	he Cosmos	,II)			
Items	Removed from Consent for Action					
4.8	Approval to fund Julie Carey and Marie Varelas to attend the	Harmon	2	Action		
ı	ASCCC Instructional Design & Innovation conference (Jan.					
	21-23) in Riverside.					
Public	Comment					
5	Questions/comments on non-agenda items	Public	5	Information		
Subco	mmittee Reports					
6.1	President's report	Hirzel	15	Information		
	A. PBC Recommendations on proposal to relocate					
	Career and Transfer Centers are posted on PBC					
	website					
	B. SPOL video tutorials and in-person training –					
	canadacollege.edu/programreview					
6.2	Treasury	Aguirre	5	Information		
6.3	Academic Committee for Equity & Success (ACES)	Hoffman	5	Information		
6.4	Curriculum Committee	Behonick	5	Information		
6.5	Professional Development	Erickson	5	Information		

Senate Business					
7.1	Appointment of Patty Hall as CTE Liaison to ASCCC	Hirzel	5	Action	
7.2	Establish Awards committee – Local funding awards, local	Hirzel	10	Action	
	recognition awards, ASCCC-sponsored awards				
7.3	Report from Class max taskforce	Behonick	10	Discussion	
7.4	Report from Use of senate funds taskforce	Lacefield &	5	Discussion	
		Aguirre			
7.5	Taskforce on the Arts @ Cañada	Hirzel	15	Discussion	
7.6	Developing the college professional development plan	Hirzel	10	Discussion	
7.7	Agenda building for spring semester	All	10	Discussion	
Other Reports					
8.1	Upcoming Conferences & Events				
	Human Trafficking Awareness – Jan. 27				
8.2	Upcoming Governance Meetings:				
	District Academic Senate – Dec. 14				
	District Committee for Budget & Finance – Dec. 15				
	College PBC – Dec. 16				
8.3	Division reports and concerns	Division Reps	5	Discussion	
9	Adjourn	Hirzel	1	Action	
	Next Meeting		·	Jan. 28, 2016	

In accordance with the Ralph M. Brown Act and SB 751, minutes of the Cañada College Academic Senate Governing Council will record the votes of all members as follows: (1) Members recorded as absent are presumed not to have voted; (2) the names of members voting in the minority or abstaining are recorded; (3) all other members are presumed to have voted in the majority.

Academic Senate Governing Council for the 2015 - 2016 academic year:

President: Doug Hirzel; Vice President: Sarah Harmon; Secretary: David Meckler; Treasurer: Alicia Aguirre; Curriculum Committee: Danielle Behonick; Professional Development: Denise Erickson; Humanities and Social Sciences Division: Katie Schertle; Science and Technology Division: Michael Hoffman; Business, Design & Workforce Division: Hyla Lacefield; Athletics, Library and Learning Resources: Ana Miladinova & Diana Tedone; Student Services: Sandra Mendez