Cañada College Academic Senate Governing Council

http://canadacollege.edu/academicsenate

Special Session Minutes 12/1/15

2:10pm – 2:30pm **Room 2-10**

Meetings of the Governing Council are open to all members of the public. Materials are posted on the meeting page of the ASGC website.

No.	Item/Topic	Presenter	Time	Action		
1	Call to Order 2:14	Hirzel	1	Procedure		
_	54 65 5.46 2.11	1111201		rioccaarc		
	Members present: Hyla Lacefield (HL), Katie Schertle (KS),					
	Dani Behonick (DB), Michael Hoffman (MH), Denise Erickson,					
	Alicia Aguirre (AA), Doug Hirzel (DH), Sarah Harmon, Diana					
	Tedone, Ana Miladinova, Sandra Mendez, David Meckler					
	Guest: Lorraine Barrales-Ramirez					
2	Adoption of Agenda		1	Action		
	DB motion to approve agenda passes unanimously.					
Public	Comment					
3	Comments on non-agenda items	Public	3	Information		
	None					
Senate Business						
4.1	ASGC Election of VP: 37 votes in favor of Sarah Harmon, no	Behonick	1	Information		
	write-ins; VP Harmon welcomed!					
	KS motion to approve election results passes unanimously.					
4.2	Approval of faculty representatives to VPSS screening	Hirzel	10	Action		
	committee:					
	Gloria Darafshi (counselor)					
	Nick Martin (counselor)					
	Alison Field (non-counseling faculty)					
	Committee of Karen Olesen, Nick Martin and Alison Field					
	was approved by ASGC 9/24/15 but Karen Olesen is no					
	longer able to serve due to pending retirement. Gloria					
	Darafshi is proposed by counseling department as					
	replacement.					
	4 th to be added? Additional names: Michael Hoffman,					
	Jessica Kaven, Cathy Lipe					
	Gloria Darafshi tenure expected next year.					
	A person cannot do both VPSS and President search,					
	considering work load and time demands.					
	First screening of applications on Jan 16; cmte sought to					
	start work now to prepare screening materials.					
	Board policy limit of 11 on cmte.					
	DCM Motion for putting forward 4 names, Nick Martin,					
	Gloria Darafshi, Alison Field, Michael Hoffman.					
	Discussion: HL: listing one as an alternate increases the		<u> </u>			

	likelihood that we would only get 3.			
	Motion passes unanimously with MH abstaining.			
5	Adjourn 2:35 p.m.	Hirzel	1	Action
	Next Meeting			Dec. 10, 2016

In accordance with the Ralph M. Brown Act and SB 751, minutes of the Cañada College Academic Senate Governing Council will record the votes of all members as follows: (1) Members recorded as absent are presumed not to have voted; (2) the names of members voting in the minority or abstaining are recorded; (3) all other members are presumed to have voted in the majority.

Academic Senate Governing Council for the 2015 – 2016 academic year:

President: Doug Hirzel; Vice President: vacant; Secretary: David Meckler; Treasurer: Alicia Aguirre; Curriculum Committee: Danielle Behonick; Professional Development: Denise Erickson; Humanities and Social Sciences Division: Katie Schertle; Science and Technology Division: Michael Hoffman; Business, Design & Workforce Division: Hyla Lacefield; Athletics, Library and Learning Resources: Ana Miladinova & Diana Tedone; Student Services: Sandra Mendez