Cañada College Academic Senate

http://canadacollege.edu/academicsenate

Agenda 9/14/17

2:10pm – 4:10pm

Room 3-142

Meetings of the Academic Senate are open to all members of the public. Materials are posted on the meeting page of the Senate website.

No.	Item/Topic	Presenter	Time	Action
1	Call to Order			Procedure
2	Introductions		1	Information
3	Adoption of Agenda		1	Action
4	Adoption of Consent Agenda		1	Action

Consent Agenda

All items on the consent agenda may, by unanimous vote of the Academic Senate members present, be approved by one motion after allowing for Senate member questions about a particular item. Prior to a motion for approval of the consent agenda, any Senate member, interested student, citizen or member of the staff may request that an item be removed from Consent to be discussed in the order listed, after approval of remaining items on the consent agenda.

	A paraval of Minuton $0/24/17$										
4.1	Approval of Minutes: 8/24/17										
4.2	Approval of Museum of Tolerance attendees										
	Richard Follansbee – FT Math										
	Kristen Parks – Faculty Coordinator, College for Working Adults										
	Approval of Counseling Tenure review committees:										
	 Lorraine Barrales-Ramirez (Standard): Sandra Mendez (A) Jenna French (Third Year): Sandra Mendez (A), Lorraine Barrales-Ramirez (B), Dean (C), Nick Martin (D), Sarah Aranyakul (E) 										
						 Nadya Sigona (Fourth Year): Sandra Mendez (A), Nick Martin (B), Dean (C), Jenny Castello (D) Sarah Aranyakul (E) Daryan Chan (Third Year): Nick Martin (A), Lorraine Barrales-Ramirez (B), Dean (C), Sandra Mendez (D), Sarah Aranyakul (E) Gena Rhodes (Second Year): Ami Smith (A), Dani Behonick (B), Max Hartman (C), Nick Martin (D), Candice Nance (E) 					
		 Christopher Rico (Third Year): Sarah Aranyakul (A), Ramirez (D), Salumeh Eslamieh (E) 	Nick Martin (B), Dean	(C), Lorra	aine Barrales-						
	Public	Christopher Rico (Third Year): Sarah Aranyakul (A),	Nick Martin (B), Dean	(C), Lorra	aine Barrales-						
Public	Christopher Rico (Third Year): Sarah Aranyakul (A), Ramirez (D), Salumeh Eslamieh (E) Comment	Nick Martin (B), Dean	(C), Lorra 5	aine Barrales-							
5	Christopher Rico (Third Year): Sarah Aranyakul (A), Ramirez (D), Salumeh Eslamieh (E)										
5	Christopher Rico (Third Year): Sarah Aranyakul (A), Ramirez (D), Salumeh Eslamieh (E) Comment Questions/comments on non-agenda items										
5 Regul a	Christopher Rico (Third Year): Sarah Aranyakul (A), Ramirez (D), Salumeh Eslamieh (E) Comment Questions/comments on non-agenda items ar Reports	Public	5	Information							
5 Regula 6.1	Christopher Rico (Third Year): Sarah Aranyakul (A), Ramirez (D), Salumeh Eslamieh (E) Comment Questions/comments on non-agenda items ar Reports President's report	Public	5	Information							
5 Regula 6.1 6.2	Christopher Rico (Third Year): Sarah Aranyakul (A), Ramirez (D), Salumeh Eslamieh (E) Comment Questions/comments on non-agenda items ar Reports President's report Treasurer's report	Public Lacefield Aranyakul	5 5 5 5	Information Information Information							
5 Regula 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4	Christopher Rico (Third Year): Sarah Aranyakul (A), Ramirez (D), Salumeh Eslamieh (E) Comment Questions/comments on non-agenda items ar Reports President's report Treasurer's report Curriculum Committee	Public Lacefield Aranyakul Nance/Schertle	5 5 5 5 5 5	Information Information Information Information							
5 Regula 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4	Christopher Rico (Third Year): Sarah Aranyakul (A), Ramirez (D), Salumeh Eslamieh (E) Comment Questions/comments on non-agenda items ar Reports President's report Treasurer's report Curriculum Committee Professional Development	Public Lacefield Aranyakul Nance/Schertle	5 5 5 5 5 5	Information Information Information Information							
5 Regula 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 Senate	Christopher Rico (Third Year): Sarah Aranyakul (A), Ramirez (D), Salumeh Eslamieh (E) Comment Questions/comments on non-agenda items ar Reports President's report Treasurer's report Curriculum Committee Professional Development e Business	Public Lacefield Aranyakul Nance/Schertle Erickson	5 5 5 5 5 5 5	Information Information Information Information Information							
5 Regula 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 Senate 7.1	 Christopher Rico (Third Year): Sarah Aranyakul (A), Ramirez (D), Salumeh Eslamieh (E) Comment Questions/comments on non-agenda items ar Reports President's report Treasurer's report Curriculum Committee Professional Development e Business Appointment of Representatives to PBC 	Public Lacefield Aranyakul Nance/Schertle Erickson Lacefield	5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5	Information Information Information Information Action							

	Keep track of which awards are coming up and			
	develop a timeline for advertising			
	 pre-screening any supplemental travel requests 			
	or speaker honorarium requests and asking that			
	they be put on our agenda			
	 when possible, advocate to faculty to submit 			
	names/programs for senate awards.			
7.4	Canvas for College Communication Committee	Lacefield	5	Action
7.5	Technology Committee Standard Laptops	Yurtseven	5	Discussion
7.6	Dean of Counseling Hiring Committee Appointments	Lacefield	10	Action
	Nadya Sigona, Faculty			
	Gloria Darafshi, Faculty			
	The following represent back ups:			
	Nick Martin, Faculty			
	Ryan (Daryan) Chan, Faculty			
	Two additional names have been put forward as well.			
7.7	Professional Learning Plan and other PD-related	Lacefield	15	Action
	developments including establishing an ad hoc workgroup to			
	develop the "Flexception" Future Flex day breakout proposal			
7.8	Appointment of replacement for faculty representative on	Lacefield	5	Action
	Professional Learning Committee (meetings 1 Tuesday a			
	month from 1-3pm)			
7.9	Discussion of goals for 2017/2018 year	Lacefield	20	Action
Other	Reports, Meetings and Deadlines			
8.1	Upcoming Governance Meetings			
	A. Planning & Budgeting Council – 9/20			
8.2	Upcoming Events:			
	ТВА			
9	Adjourn	Lacefield		Action
	Next Meeting			September 28,
	Fall agenda items:			2017
	Accreditation, Employee Office Technology Device standards a			
	Professional learning for faculty; New instructional program de			
	revitalization and PIP; Guided Pathways & meta-majors.			

In accordance with the Ralph M. Brown Act and SB 751, minutes of the Cañada College Academic Senate will record the votes of all members as follows: (1) Members recorded as absent are presumed not to have voted; (2) the names of members voting in the minority or abstaining are recorded; (3) all other members are presumed to have voted in the majority.

Academic Senate for the 2017 – 2018 academic year:

President: Hyla Lacefield; Vice President: Diana Tedone; Secretary: Lisa Palmer; Treasurer: Sarah Aranyakul; Curriculum Committee: Candice Nance/Katie Schertle; Professional Development: Denise Erickson; Humanities and Social Sciences Division: Monica Malamud; Science and Technology Division: vacant; Business, Design & Workforce Division: Lale Yurtseven; Athletics, Library and Learning Resources: Marie Varelas; Student Services: Sandra Mendez