# Cañada College Academic Senate

http://canadacollege.edu/academicsenate

# Agenda 12/14/17

2:10pm - 4:00pm

#### Room 3-142

Meetings of the Academic Senate are open to all members of the public. Materials are posted on the meeting page of the Senate website.

| No. | Item/Topic                 | Presenter | Time | Action      |
|-----|----------------------------|-----------|------|-------------|
| 1   | Call to Order              |           |      | Procedure   |
| 2   | Introductions              |           | 1    | Information |
| 3   | Adoption of Agenda         |           | 1    | Action      |
| 4   | Adoption of Consent Agenda |           | 1    | Action      |

## Consent Agenda

All items on the consent agenda may, by unanimous vote of the Academic Senate members present, be approved by one motion after allowing for Senate member questions about a particular item. Prior to a motion for approval of the consent agenda, any Senate member, interested student, citizen or member of the staff may request that an item be removed from Consent to be discussed in the order listed, after approval of remaining items on the consent agenda.

4.1 Approval of Minutes: 11/9/17

| Public Comment |  |                |    |             |  |  |
|----------------|--|----------------|----|-------------|--|--|
| 5              | Questions/comments on non-agenda items   | Public         | 5  | Information |  |  |
| Regula         | r Reports  |                |    |             |  |  |
| 6.1            | President's report   | Tedone         | 5  | Information |  |  |
| 6.2            | Treasurer's report   | Aranyakul      | 5  | Information |  |  |
| 6.3            | Curriculum Committee   | Nance/Schertle | 5  | Information |  |  |
| 6.4            | Professional Development   | Erickson       | 5  | Information |  |  |
| Senate         | Business   |                |    |             |  |  |
| 7.1            | IPC Reassigned Time Application Assessment   | Johnson        | 10 | Information |  |  |
| 7.2            | Director of Post-Secondary Success and Equity  | King           | 10 | Information |  |  |
| 7.3            | FT ESL Faculty (2 positions) Retirement Replacement                                      | Aguirre        | 10 | Action      |  |  |
| 7.4            | SMCCD Promise Scholarship Program  | Moore          | 5  | Information |  |  |
| 7.5            | Community and Continuing Education   | Moore          | 10 | Information |  |  |
| 7.6            | Community and Continuing Education Policy Revisions                                      | Tedone         | 15 | Discussion  |  |  |
| 7.7            | VPI Screening Committee Faculty Representatives  | Tedone         | 15 | Action      |  |  |
| Other          | Reports, Meetings and Deadlines  |                |    |             |  |  |
| 8.1            | Upcoming Governance Meetings   |                |    |             |  |  |
| 8.2            | 2 Upcoming Events:   |                |    |             |  |  |
|                | TBA  |                |    |             |  |  |
| 9              | Adjourn  | Tedone         |    | Action      |  |  |
|                | Next Meeting   |                |    |             |  |  |
|                | Spring agenda items:   |                |    |             |  |  |
|                | Accreditation, Professional learning for faculty; Guided Pathways & meta-majors; OER and |                |    |             |  |  |
|                | Z degrees; Multiple Measures   |                |    |             |  |  |

In accordance with the Ralph M. Brown Act and SB 751, minutes of the Cañada College Academic Senate will record the votes of all members as follows: (1) Members recorded as absent are presumed not to have voted; (2) the names of members voting in the minority or abstaining

are recorded; (3) all other members are presumed to have voted in the majority.

## Academic Senate for the 2017 - 2018 academic year:

President: Hyla Lacefield; Vice President: Diana Tedone; Secretary: Lisa Palmer; Treasurer: Sarah Aranyakul; Curriculum Committee: Candice Nance/Katie Schertle; Professional Development: Denise Erickson; Humanities and Social Sciences Division: Monica Malamud; Science and Technology Division: vacant; Business, Design & Workforce Division: Lale Yurtseven; Athletics, Library and Learning Resources: Marie Varelas; Student Services: Daryan Chan