

HONORS TRANSFER PROGRAM ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Monday, October 27, 2014 12:30 pm – 1:30 pm Building 9, Room 307

Members Present: Gerald Morlidge (PTK), Alicia Aguirre (Faculty), Sarah

Harmon (Faculty), Lezlee Ware (Faculty), Paul Roscelli (Faculty), Denise Erickson (Faculty), Michael Stanford (Faculty), Soraya Sohrabi (Transfer Center Director),

Jessica Kaven (co-chair)

Members Absent: Gregory Anderson (VPI), Janet Stringer (Articulation Officer), David

Meckler (Faculty), Jeanette Medina (Faculty), Lisa Palmer (Faculty)

Guest: Doug Hirzel, Matt Lee, Kim Lopez

1. Welcome: Introductions

2. Business

A. Revision of membership and bylaws

- Revision of membership included:
 - o 1 PTK student instead of 2
 - Changed the name CCHTP Program Academic Counselor from Academic Advisor
 - o Minimum of 7-9 faculty members instead of 6
 - 3 faculty members stepped down (Carole Rhodes, Ray Lapuz & Candice Nance)
 - Voting faculty members serving on the committee include: Alicia Aguirre, Sarah Harmon, Lezlee Ware, Paul Roscelli, Denise Erickson, Michael Stanford, Jeannette Medina (pending), David Meckler (pending), & Lisa Palmer (pending)
 - Removed MESA Coordinator
 - o Committee Consists of the following:
 - Co-Chair CCHTP Program Counselor: Vacant (Sandra Mendez has decided to step down at the end

- of Fall 2014)
- Co- Chair CCHTP Program Coordinator: Jessica Kaven
- Vice President of Instruction: Gregory Anderson
- 1 Student appointed by the PTK leadership: Gerald Morlidge
- Minimum of 7-9 faculty members who are teaching in the CCHTP, with representatives from the academic divisions and counseling: Alicia Aguirre, Sarah Harmon, Lezlee Ware, Paul Roscelli, Denise Erikson, Michael Stanford, David Meckler, Jeanette Medina, Lisa Palmer
- o Transfer Center Director: Soraya Sohrabi
- o Articulation Officer: Janet Stringer
- Revised Terms
 - Replaced second sentence with "At the end of the two-year term, there will be an effort made to incorporate new voting members" (Removed "There shall be a six year limit at which time the person must take a break of at least on calendar year prior to re-joining.").
- Power and Responsibilities
 - Changed the name from Power and Responsibilities to Responsibilities
- Voting Structure
 - Updated language to "A quorum will exist at 50 percent, plus one of the voting members. Decision will be made by consensus. In the absence of consensus, decisions will be made by vote."
- Amending the Bylaws
 - o Fixed typo.
- Terms of service for the Honors Transfer Program Coordinator
 - O Doug discussed service terms for coordinators on campus (e.g., ACES, Academic Senate, Curriculum Committee). He recommended that the committee discuss a service term for the Honors Transfer Program Coordinator. Cited data that 50 percent of the Honors coordinators in the state have a term of 2 or 3 years, while the other coordinators do not have a designated term. The committee agreed to discuss this at our next meeting.

Motion to approve revision of membership pending approval from three faculty members (noted above). The motion carried and approved unanimously.

B. Revised HTP Completion Requirement

- Removed the 3-unit STEM and non-STEM completion requirement. Will revisit adding the requirement again in Spring 2015 once the number of STEM course offerings has increased
- C. Adjournment (1:40pm)